Vega Whole Food Health Optimizer Review

Let me first start off this review my letting you warning beforehand to not blindly consume anything that you have not researched yourself. The heath supplement market is an extremely scary industry. Virtually anyone can make a supplement product and market it with ridiculous claims such as:

“Eat All You Want! Block the Starch and Lose Weight!”

“Guaranteed to block the breakdown of carbohydrates and simple sugars from being converted into fat.”

Yes, these are actual claims on real products on the market. The only thing the FDA requires is that the disclaimer must state that the product does not “diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease”. Only actual drugs can make these claims. Manufacturers of supplements are not required to provide any sort of research prior to putting out the product.

To be honest, I believe, we basically have to wait until somebody dies or some huge lawsuits appear until we will have any adequate regulation in this multi billion dollar industry. Definitely do some research before you start consuming any supplement!

So where was I going? Yes, supplements for athletic performance. All athletes want to perform at their best. One very  important aspect is recovery.  Your recovery has a huge impact on fitness gains and sports performance. It is essential to muscle and tissue repair . Obviously some things you can do to recovery appropriately are by drinking plenty of fluids, eating properly and adequate sleep.

I recently have adapted a largely  vegan diet and I need to find a supplement that would fulfill my dietary needs.  As I scoured the internetz I came across the Vega Website and the Whole Foods Optimizer.

If you take a look at the ingredients you will notice that the ingredients come from natural plant-based whole foods. It is high in fiber, protein, fatty acids and contain the 100 percent recommended daily intake of vitamins and minerals. There are no animal products as well as no fillers, gluten, soy, sugar, wheat or yeast. You can look at the ingredients and dietary claims
here.

One thing that I would like to caution the consumer is that you may experience cleansing symptoms when first taking this product. I believe if you are a full on carnivore or eat very few fruits and vegetables….. This product will clean you out. No seriously, this product  WILL CLEAN YOU OUT.  I believe it’s the ChlorEssence’s detoxifying components that cause this. Cleansing symptoms are indicators that your health condition is improving so don’t give up.

At about a retail serving of 5 dollars, Vega Health optimizer is definitely one of the most expensive meal replacements out there. I feel you get what you pay for.  To me the chocolate flavor tastes great, though some may find the Stevia-esque taste a little overwhelming. You can buy individual packets to try out before committing to the larger size.

I used to be worn out after a single one hour brazilian jiu jitsu session. Nowadays I train much more aggressively; almost 3 hours a day, 6 days a week.  This product, combined with good diet and exercise, has helped me feel in the best shape of my life.

I could survive on this product and water alone…It definitely wouldn’t be ideal but that’s how much I believe in this product. It’s kind of like that paste in the Matrix; the single food the crew eats on the Nebuchadnezzar. It has everything the body needs.

Score: 9

Leave a Reply

