Under Armour Generation II Recharge Shirt Review

I have to admit…. I’ll buy anything that promises to build my body back up after a hard day of training. When I first saw the recovery suit on CNBC, I wanted one right away. It seemed perfect for me; I train 6 days a week almost 3 hours each day. So you’re telling me… The suit will help me recover quickly and make me look like a superhero?

When you train hard, your muscle fibers tear up and take on water which causes soreness. UA states that the Recharge Energy Shirt uses super-tight compression to push the water out of the muscles so you the athlete, recover faster. The suit should be put within two hours post-workout and should be worn for 24 hours.

I buy a lot of fitness items but I was very skeptical buying this one. I’m a pretty small guy so I bought the smallest size they had. I made sure to max out lifting, showered then put the suit on.

Via Under Armour

The suit is ridiculously tight the first time you put it on. I was even contemplating returning it to purchase a larger size. But it’s the tightness of the compression suit, which allows it to work its magic (obviously). I went to sleep with it on and took it off after 24 hours. There was no soreness, no aching, just a small pump after removing the tight garment off my body.

Did this thing really work? Was it legit or was I having a confusing placebo affect; like how I feel after taking a suspect multivitamin that discolors my urine?

I waited until the next day; I usually feel uber sore the second day of a hard workout. Still, no soreness.

I’ve been using the recharge suit for about a month now and the only complaint I have is that it unfortunately did stretch out. It didn’t stretch to the point that the garment is loose but it definitely is not as tight as when I started using it. However, this is what I paid for; a tight compression suit that helps me recover faster. I think anyone who trains hard would benefit from it. I just don’t think I’d pay full price for this thing. Maybe this is why the suit is on sale at their outlet website. Proper rest, massage, and nutrition are essentials in recovery. Though it’s a nice addition, the UA Recovery Recharge Suit doesn’t need to be included in that list anytime soon.

Score (1-10): 7

Leave a Reply

